HOW TO DETERMINE IF YOUR CASE SHOULD BE ASSIGNED TO BUFFALO OR ROCHESTER

The United States District Court for the Western District comprises two divisions: Buffalo and Rochester. Generally, a case must be filed in the division where the plaintiff resides or where the claim arose.

The Buffalo Division includes the counties of Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Niagara, Orleans and Wyoming.

The Rochester Division includes the counties of Chemung, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne and Yates.

 If the plaintiff does not reside in any county in the Western District of New York, then defer to the defendant's county to determine which office the case will be assigned to.

If you are not sure which office to assign your case to, please contact the Clerks Office at: Buffalo: 716-551-4211 Rochester: 585-613-4000